Fall 2015 Concert Series

No Exit presents our first installment in a year long tribute to the original dadaist, composer Eric Satie. For this first concert, we present an introduction to the weird and wild world of Satie’s music by presenting some of his lesser heard works for solo piano. These pieces hold so many connections to the practices found in late 20th century music, modality and minimalism to name two, that it is impossible not to think of these as extremely contemporary. Pairing these with pieces with many different aesthetic philosophies, from the structural modernism of Krzysztof Penderecki, we set the stage for our large scale re-imagining of Satie’s works through a modern lens.

noexit_Fall 2015 full size

No Exit Fall 2015 Program (Click for complete PDF)



Night Falls Fast - Oct15

Heights Arts - action

CSU Oct15


Nocturne – 1.Doux Et Calme (1919)
Avant-Dernieres Pensees – 1.Idylle. Modere, Je Vous Prie (1915)
Nocturne – 5. (1919)
Eric Satie (b.1866 – d.1925)

String Trio (1991)
Krzysztof Penderecki (b.1933)
I. Allegro molto
II. Vivace

Sept Papillions (2000)
Kaija Saariaho (b.1952)


Night Falls Fast (2007)
Ryan Gallagher (b.1984)

Fantasie (2015) “World Premiere”
Justin Henry Rubin (b.1971)


October 27, 2015

No Exit to launch yearlong tribute to the music of Erik Satie (October 27)
by Mike Telin, ClevelandClassical.com