No Exit and Chester Englander April 2022: New Music for Cimbalom and Ensemble




April 29, 8PM


SPACES Gallery

2900 Detroit Avenue Cleveland, OH 44113

(216) 621-2314

No Exit returns to SPACES where the ensemble will be joined by renowned cimbalom artist Chester Englander ( and violin virtuosa Mari Sato. This sonically enticing program will feature a trifecta of brand-new world premiere works. Among them will be Douglas Knehans’ Ecstatic Waves (for string quartet & cimbalom) and Hong-Da Chin’s …tears…yet far yet near (for cimbalom and ensemble). Both pieces seek to recontexualize this centuries-old folk instrument, bringing the cimbalom into the realm of avant-garde new music. Also receiving its world premiere is Edward Smaldone’s jazzy and immersive Duke Re-Dux (for mixed quartet). Rounding out the program are the otherworldly and visceral soundscapes of Per Nørgård’s monumental string quartet, Night Descending.

As always, No Exit’s concerts are free and open to the public. For the safety of all present, masks are required. Please check with the venue to find out what their Covid safety policies are.


Ecstatic Waves (2020) *World Premiere* – Douglas Knehans

…tears…yet far yet near (2019) *World Premiere* – Hong-Da Chin

Duke Re-Dux (2021) *World Premiere* – Edward Smaldone

Night Descending (1995-97) – Per Nørgård